Published October 13, 2022

England head coach Shaun Wane has named his 19-strong squad for Saturday’s Rugby League World Cup tournament opener against Samoa at St James’s Park, Newcastle (kick off 2.30pm).
Skipper Sam Tomkins will enjoy his first taste of Rugby League World Cup action since the semi-final defeat by New Zealand at Wembley Stadium in 2013.
The Catalans Dragons full back is one of five players with at least 20 England Test caps to their name, alongside Tom Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Chris Hill (Huddersfield Giants), Kallum Watkins (Salford Red Devils) and Elliott Whitehead (Canberra Raiders).
Burgess and Whitehead are among a six-strong NRL contingent which also includes Herbie Farnworth (Brisbane Broncos), Victor Radley (Sydney Roosters), Luke Thompson (Canterbury Bulldogs) and Dom Young (Newcastle Knights).
Four players from Super League champions St Helens are also named, including 2022 Super League Dream Team selections Morgan Knowles and Jack Welsby.
England squad (with squad numbers)
The complete 24-man England World Cup Squad is available at The Home of Rugby League (
England versus Samoa kicks off at 2.30pm on Saturday 15 October and will be shown live on BBC One. A limited number of tickets are still available at
October 14, 2022
October 5, 2022
October 4, 2022
October 4, 2022